Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

Worst designed LEGO part ever?

ninjagolightlyninjagolightly Member Posts: 140
edited April 2012 in Building and Techniques
So, as I've been fiddling around with Hero Factory parts in recent months, I keep finding myself saying, "What the &%$#$% were they thinking when they designed this piece?"

Don't get me wrong, I actually like HF quite a bit on its own terms, and in fact it was key in bringing me out of my dark age actually (much like Bionicle had been key in keeping me there, because that line really turned me off). But it seems like they went perversely out of their way in some cases to defeat any kind of possible interconnection with system or even technic. (I'm going to start a whole other rant on that issue at some point.)

But anyway, since I'm a newbie AFOL, I was wondering if old-timers had some memorable candidates for "worst LEGO piece ever." My nomination is:
http://www.bricklink.com/catalogItem.asp?P=87841
It looks stupid even on the models it comes with - sets which I otherwise like a lot - and is almost impossible to reuse creatively. At least for my puny mind.

Comments

• IstokgIstokg MichiganMember Posts: 2,086
    IMHO, the worst LEGO redesigned part was the new (2010) macaroni brick....

TLG put cross supports on the underside...

It went from being able to be staggered so that you could build columns with them... but not with the new redesign. Now you can only stack them on top of each other... not good for stable LEGO structures...
  • LegobrandonCPLegobrandonCP CanadaMember Posts: 1,908
    ^ And yet they teach kids to stagger the bricks for more stability in buildings.
  • ninjagolightlyninjagolightly Member Posts: 140
    It's always hard to understand why companies "fix" things that aren't broken.