Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

selling loose bricks - old or new?

MinifigsMeMinifigsMe Member Posts: 2,844
edited May 2011 in Buying & Selling Topics
I'm trying to be tidy (and save some money) by selling some of the loose bricks I've acquired bulk buy. I'm trying to decide whether to keep the old bricks or the new style ones. The mix seems to be about 50/50 at the minute, and it seems to make sense to stick with one type...despite not liking them at first, I'm leaning towards keeping the newer style for myself.

Anyone know which type sells better? I'm planning on bundling them as 250 loose bricks (2x2, 2x3 and 2x4s) or by weight...

Any advice is welcome.

Comments

• newbieminifignewbieminifig Member Posts: 6
    Let me know if you interested in selling bulk I'm new to hobby looking to her some loose legos
  • atkinsaratkinsar Member Posts: 4,272
    There are people way more qualified to answer this question than me. By old/new style, I'm assuming you're referring to pre/post colour palette change? I would sell the old bricks and keep the newer style, purely because you will be able to easily add to the collection with new sets purchased.

When building, people generally don't mix old and new bricks as the difference is too jarring.

As for which sells better, I would imagine the newer bricks will sell better, but you can't have it both ways I guess.
  • MinifigsMeMinifigsMe Member Posts: 2,844
    Yeah, the colour change and the solid vs ridges inside bricks are what I class as new. I'm gonna keep those, so that new sets mix better with them.
    The yellows and reds are fine, but the blue and whites are in pretty bad shape - time to try the machine wash and h2o2 bleaching.

@newbieminifig I'm in the UK, there's about a kilo of red, blue, yellow and white 2x2, 2x3 and 2x4 and I'll chuck some 1x2 and 1x1s into the mix too. let me know if you have any interest.