Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

Bugatt 42083 need help front wheels

I’m very new to LEGO kits (and new to forum), the Bugatti is my second one. I’m ¾ of the way through (working on rear outer body) and just noticed when I rotate one front wheel in one direction, the other wheel rotates in the opposite direction. I followed the directions perfectly, or so I thought. Short of buying a new one and starting over, is there any suggestion how to rectify? Thanks 

Comments

• green_papergreen_paper VancouverMember Posts: 10
    edited January 5
    I don't have my Bugatti in front of me right now, but I think that's made possible by the dark grey differential piece (this piece: https://brickset.com/parts/design-62821).
    If you manually rotate both front wheels in the same direction, do they rotate, or does it get stuck?

larryd517
  • gratefulnatgratefulnat SwitzerlandMember Posts: 261
    You're fine - this is just due to the differential as @green_paper indicated. When only one wheel can turn and the other can't, or both turn in the same direction, then the differential will spin - that's what the differentials functionality allows for. If both wheels are free to turn and you turn only one you get the effect you are seeing (in this case the differential doesn't spin, but the opposite wheel will).
    larryd517 said:
     Short of buying a new one and starting over, is there any suggestion how to rectify? Thanks 
    If you have build it incorrectly, then I recommend taking it apart and starting over - much cheaper than buying another set, particularly this set ;-)
    larryd517drdavewatfordkiki180703
  • larryd517larryd517 NJMember Posts: 10
    Thanks! Yes, it was the differential. Never knew it acted that way, but am very relieved.