Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

UCS MF math problems

legoleppylegoleppy MarylandMember Posts: 71
I am a 5th grade teacher and recently built the UCS MF.  My students know I love Lego and SW so I was thinking of doing a special math lesson on May 4th.  I kept track of my building times for each set of bags and wrote a few problems based on that.  Does anyone have any ideas of other problems that I can have my kids solve?
FizyxThe_RancorMr_Crossricecakestlux

Comments

• FizyxFizyx ColoradoMember Posts: 761
    Could be an interesting perimeter problem if you're doing any basic geometry.  Could be kind of fun to do area and volume too, but much more difficult.  Could also have them do something like finding the average number of parts per page or step of instructions, or average parts per bag (although this would be super fiddly as they would have to count parts step by step in the instructions themselves.)  Maybe you could do some stuff with the parts distribution as well (finding how many of each kind of piece there are on average kind of thing.)  I know there's some good ones in there, although for 5th graders a bunch of my suggestions are probably duds :)
    Mr_Crossstlux
  • LusiferSamLusiferSam MontanaMember Posts: 477