Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

LEGO fight Against Chinese counterfeit LEGO

Comments

• datsunrobbiedatsunrobbie West Haven , CTMember Posts: 1,785
    Pitfall69 said:
    As I said before; I am also a business owner and we sell retail products that are counterfeited. Over the years this has cost us over 70% of our retail sales. Many people have come into our shop to complain about the product and we find out that it wasn't bought from.us and that the product was either fake or so similar that they thought it was something else; much like Lepin and their "STAR WNRS" or "Ninjag". I have no doubt that people who have bought products like Lepin have called Lego Customer Service to complain and/or have posted bad reviews on websites like Yelp; this obviously hurts LEGO. People put themselves in a bubble and don't consider the ramifications of their actions. Our business pays the mortgage, puts food on the table and supports my family including my 2 young daughters.
    I agree that Lepin is particularly blatant about their IP infringement. I have not bought any Lepin products, but I freely admit it that I'd consider it if I did not already have multiple tubs of unsorted genuine LEGO and a fairly steady supply of cheap LEGO available at local thrifts stores. 

I do have a serious question. How did you come to the conclusion that counterfeits have cost you 70% of your retail sales, rather than 90% (or 20%)?
  • stluxstlux LuxembourgMember Posts: 2,450
    Actions always have consequences. By rationalising buying the retired Modulars/UCS/... you have shown Lepin it makes business sense bringing out new ones. As they are thieving bastards who don't want to pay a designer and they have run out of Lego Modulars to copy, they have now gone after MOC's.