Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

Cool Baseplates - why does Lego no longer make / include them in sets?

Hello, I'm fairly new to Lego (1 year plus) but I have a friend who has collected for decades. She has lots of sets that have molded baseplates included that really add to the look and playability of sets. Why doesn't Lego include these in sets anymore? Or offer them for sale separately? I'd rather pay an extra $5 and get something like this, than to have them just exclude the baseplates, all in the name of profit I assume? Thoughts? Does anyone have any insight into this topic? Thanks!

Comments

• madforLEGOmadforLEGO Chicagoland USMember Posts: 9,252
    Typically baseplates cost more for LEGO to produce and quite frankly the molded plates are often flimsy and do not stand up to abuse of putting parts on and taking them off, at least in my experience.
    So you are pretty much lucky if you see any new LEGO sets with anything greater than a 16x32 base plate, which is also why they are rising in price on sites like eBay, BL and brickowl.
    Pitfall69dougts
  • Pitfall69Pitfall69 0 miles to Legoboy's houseMember Posts: 11,356
    edited March 2014
    You are so right. The baseplate that came with the Kingdoms II castle snapped right in the middle. A lot of the baseplates with ramps often "tore" and cracked in places. The studs would lose their clutch very easily over time.
  • CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 17,515
    Given the cost of flat ones, and the ease of storing and transporting them, the molded one is likely to cost significantly more than $5.
  • Lego_Lord_MayorcaLego_Lord_Mayorca H-Town, USAMember Posts: 504