Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

On what do you build your sets?

Bluefairy_56Bluefairy_56 Member Posts: 320
edited February 2014 in Building and Techniques
Hi,
After reading about all the missing parts, only to have some of them reappear somewhere else, I got to thinking...

What do you use to build your sets on?

I am new to Lego building myself, and I have been using an Island bench with a back wall to build my smaller sets, but it means standing while doing it. I was thinking I might get my husband to build me a flat MDF board with a 1/4 turn dowel around the edges to stop pieces rolling off, like those pesky 1x1 studs that roll everywhere. He built me a similar board for my large 5,000 piece jigsaw puzzles. I love it and I have never had a piece go missing.

I don't think I could build any of the bigger sets on just a flat table top, some of the pieces roll and they are always landing on the floor.

So what do you use?

Comments

• FollowsCloselyFollowsClosely Member Posts: 949
    edited February 2014
    If it is a family build, the formal dining room table. As that is where the Sea Cow is right now. For smaller sets I have a 12"x12" oak board that the kids lay on the floor and build, similar to what you describe. But no edge as the pieces usually are on the carpet and the build is on the board.
  • llanowarsoldierllanowarsoldier Ohio USAMember Posts: 357
    I myself use the dining room table as its pretty large. It'll be get ALOT of use here in next few weeks as one of the cats knocked over a bookshelf that had quite a few sets on it including Shuttle Adventure and the 1st 2 Winter Village sets.
  • YellowcastleYellowcastle Member Posts: 4,401
    Caffeine and baseplates.
    BumblepantsSuperTrampGothamConstructionCoStormKittyGoldchainsFrictionPinYodaliciousDrLegOBrickjasor