Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Where to get X-Large baseplates

ShpadoinkleShpadoinkle 13 hours West of BillundMember Posts: 420
I'm planning on doing a massive display in the near future, but have found that there are simply no used 48 X 48 gray baseplates for sale on bricklink and checking ebay it seems like the demand is fairly high for these. Is this a correct assessment? Is my only option buying new from Lego? Do they ever go on sale?

I'm very new to this end of the hobby but I'm seeing big bucks pile up when it comes to getting all the baseplates I need. Any tips would be appreciated!

Comments

• EKSamEKSam Member Posts: 349
    I have seen them in Target and I believe a few months ago B&N.com had them for around $11. Not a sure bet though. How about craigslist?
    Good luck with your massive display, post some pics when you are done. :-)
  • ColoradoBricksColoradoBricks Denver, CO, USAMember Posts: 1,663
    Last week they had them on Amazon.com at $13.49 (add-on item).
    Sometimes B&N has some, if you are a member, it is 10% off + coupons.

Beside those I never saw them on sale (well, they are on "sale" now at TRU for LEGO RRP...)
  • PoochyPoochy USAMember Posts: 479
    I stocked up on them the last time TRU had a BOGO50 sale where you could still get MSRP before the morning increase. That was a while ago though.
  • AdeelZubairAdeelZubair London, UKMember Posts: 2,664
    I saw them at LegoLand yesterday.
    flecski
  • PaperballparkPaperballpark UK / KLMember Posts: 3,804
    ^ Seeing them in the UK is no use to him when he's in America is it?
  • FurrysaurusFurrysaurus Hiding in the kitchen.Member Posts: 156
    i have found them marked down in the mall toy stores before - i think i paid 8 bones each for the remaining four they had. not sure if they were going out of business and it was a one off or what, but it may be worth looking.