Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Do you have a system on how you buy your legos that are discontinued?

OldLegoOldLego Member Posts: 28
So I'm relatively new to getting back into legos...and now I'm on fire as far as building and wanting to collect and where the heck am I going to fit all these models...etc...etc...etc.

I've of course scoured ebay for my technic and Star Wars UCS models...and even bought one off of ebay. That being said, I've also been looking at Bricklink recently. The prices I see there...are usually better than Ebay and it looks like much wider selection and control over things such as box and instruction conditions.

When there is just one thing I'm focussing on...I would think simple...look on ebay for that item...check bricklink...buy the better deal.

When I'm just looking...I was thinking something pops up on ebay I like...I think use bricklink as well to maybe get a higher quality item if available.

For you real collectors...do you have a "process" you follow?

I've also started at least looking at Craigslist...and looking for garage sales/yard sales on weekends.

Thanks for any advice you have...I'll be around for a while...

chuck

Comments

• pillpodpillpod Member Posts: 273
    I don't buy nearly as much as some people on this site but a few thing you can do is:

-go to Walmart, Target, etc. about once a week or so and check the clearance isle
    -check goodwill every now and again
    -use camelcamelcamel to set a price threshold for an item you want (from amazon).

These are the only things I do and when it comes to Legos in the big stores like Target, I usually won't buy until at least 30% off...usually more.
  • jockosjunglejockosjungle Member Posts: 701
    If I have missed a set for sale and its going for above RRP I chalk it down to experience and look for sets that are available
    pillpod
  • OldLegoOldLego Member Posts: 28