Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.com Amazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

How to Identify Online Fraud

BrickarmorBrickarmor USAMember Posts: 1,257
edited January 2012 in Buying & Selling Topics
I'm new to both eBay and Brickset. Could someone clarify precisely what the risks of purchasing Legos on eBay are? Is it simply that the item may not be shipped or may not match the details in the listing? I scanned the lengthy Announcement regarding this but it seemed geared to folks already in the know. Any clarification of the risks as well as ways to discern the fraudulent from the authentic (they can't all be bogus, right?) would be appreciated.

Comments

• choob99choob99 Member Posts: 147
    We are all mostly going by the rule of not buying anything that is not retired, if it is available to order from lego.com then don't buy it from ebay, only way to truly stay safe
  • The_Brick_BuilderThe_Brick_Builder Member Posts: 658
    edited January 2012
    The item will be shipped, just watch out for sellers who describe boxes as "mint" when they are clearly not. I purchased a NISB 4956 Creator House for $101.79. The seller described mint, but when I received it, it was all beat up and only wrapped in shipping paper! If you see a "mint" box, don't expect it too arrive that way. Fradulent sellers list the 10188 Death Stars of 100+ quantity, for anywhere between $120-$250. They are also located outside the US. Their feedback is fake and don't believe it. Drop-shippers list current sets like 7939 for example. They list it as Buy It Now for lower than retail price. If the item location is Southhaven, MS, that is a drop-shipper. If it seems too good to be true, it is! I am staying away from eBay as buyers try to scam me, and there are too many dishonest sellers.
  • gmpirategmpirate Member Posts: 1,654