Recently having to login each time I visit

vynsanevynsane Member Posts: 179
edited June 2011 in Forum Operation
... despite having the "remember me" checkbox checked.

Comments

  • LambringoLambringo Member Posts: 104
    same here
  • rocaorocao Administrator Posts: 4,288
    Can you help us by providing a little more information so we can address it with support?

    1) what browser are you using?
    2) what device/OS are you using?
    3) which scenario describes how you're experiencing the issue:
    - power off your device and power it back on?
    - hibernate/sleep and log back in?
    - close the browser and open a new one?
    - navigate away from the site and return in the same browser session?
  • vynsanevynsane Member Posts: 179
    1) Google Chrome 12.0.743.91
    2) MacBook Pro, OSX 10.6.7
    3) Looks like it's any time I quit the browser (fully shut down the application, not just close the browser window)
  • YellowcastleYellowcastle Member Posts: 4,401
    edited June 2011
    Me too, rocao......iPhone....
  • MatthewMatthew Cheshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 3,734
    Same here
    1) Chrome
    2) XP Home Edition
    3) - power off your device and power it back on?
    - close the browser and open a new one?
  • rocaorocao Administrator Posts: 4,288
    edited June 2011
    Yeah... I was on my iPad previously and didn't have the problem, but I'm trying now on my PC and closing any browser (Chrome, Firefox, IE) and reopening reproduces the issue. Now that we've pinned down the behavior, we'll contact support. Thanks!

    Btw, this probably coincided with the automatic upgrade of the VanillaForum version, which you may or may not have noticed.
  • JP3804JP3804 Member Posts: 332
    I noticed this yesterday AM.
    1) Chrome
    2) XP Home and 7 Home Deluxe
    3) Every time I leave the site. Not between forum and home page
  • dougtsdougts Oregon, USAMember Posts: 4,128
    started having this yesterday as well - only in the forum though. main site kept me logged in.

    xp and chrome
  • SarahIsabellaSarahIsabella USAMember Posts: 69
    Me too. Only in the forum, not main site
    - Chrome
    - Windows 7 PC
    - Whenever I close the browser

  • YellowcastleYellowcastle Member Posts: 4,401
    Everyone, this is a Vanilla issue so any impact would only affect the forum. :o)
  • RabbitWizzardRabbitWizzard Member Posts: 26
    The cookies seem only valid till you close your session, that should be the problem. Should be a problem for everyone browsing here.
  • adello25adello25 U.S.A.Member Posts: 360
    Same with me on....

    Firefox (windows XP & 7)
    IE6 (windows XP)
    Google Chrome (windows7)
  • TonyV5TonyV5 Member Posts: 14
    Same for me, started yesterday. main pages remain logged-in on closing Chrome, but switching to forum requires fresh log-in.
    Windows 7 Pro
    Google Chrome 12.0.742.91
    Explorer 9 even with "save password" enabled
  • MatthewMatthew Cheshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 3,734
    Everyone, this is a Vanilla issue so any impact would only affect the forum. :o)
    The forum, although it looks like part of the main site is hosted separately, so any issues relating to either of them will not affect the other.
  • vynsanevynsane Member Posts: 179
    edited June 2011
    ^ False - the styling of the forum is dependent on the main site as, when the main site is down, the CSS and graphics for the forum are not loaded - so the correct phraseology would be "so MOST issues relating to either of them will not affect the other."

    :P
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,441
    Me too. It started after the forum s/w was upgraded yesterday morning. I will contact tech. support
  • atkinsaratkinsar Member Posts: 4,272
    I can't believe any of you ever shut down your browser since this forum started ;-).

    It's happening for me too, although it seems to be a global issue affecting all of us so I guess we'll wait and see what tech support say now.
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,441
    edited June 2011
    I've examined the site cookies in my IE9 and they don't look quite right, they are either session cookies or with a expiry date set to when they were created so it looks as if there's a bug somewhere introduced by the upgrade.

    I've sent all the info to tech. support.
  • RabbitWizzardRabbitWizzard Member Posts: 26
    I installed a cookie editor and set the expiration date to december. Works fine ;)
  • atkinsaratkinsar Member Posts: 4,272
    ^ smarty pants! Come on then, share the info on how it's done.
  • LegoboyLegoboy 100km furtherMember Posts: 8,702
    ^ Yeah. Wouldn't mind that for Ebay.
  • RabbitWizzardRabbitWizzard Member Posts: 26
    Theres a firefox addon i used: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-us/firefox/addon/edit-cookies/
    I don't know if there's a way for IE or chrome or any other redundant browser, but google should help there.
  • pantenkindpantenkind Member Posts: 258
    edited June 2011
    I use firefox and windows 7 and it has been doing this to me for the last week, I honestly thought my kids were deleting cookies or something and was about to scold them when I seen this post :-)
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,441
    Tech support say "This has been fixed and pushed live. Sorry for the inconvenience."

    So hopefully it's been resolved. LMK if not
  • Steve_J_OMSteve_J_OM Cork, IrelandMember Posts: 942
    Yep, working fine again!
  • dougtsdougts Oregon, USAMember Posts: 4,128
    fixed!
  • TonyV5TonyV5 Member Posts: 14
    Here OK, thanks
  • MatthewMatthew Cheshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 3,734
    Working now
  • YellowcastleYellowcastle Member Posts: 4,401
    Down again?
  • HobomanHoboman Member Posts: 9
    It is still happening to me today. :-(
  • legohairlegohair Member Posts: 41
    And me...
  • vynsanevynsane Member Posts: 179
    You might need to clear your cookies and cache, then try to log in again.
Sign In or Register to comment.

Recent discussions Categories Privacy Policy