Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Volkswagen beetle 10187

Hello, I am an amateur builder and I do not know much about Legos. I received a beetle from my uncle a few years ago and I was considering selling it to my friend. I searched the beetle online online and saw that people were selling them for around $500! Are these reasonable prices? Any information or help is appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• cloaked7cloaked7 Member Posts: 1,448
    edited December 2012
    Yup, a quick look at recent completed auctions on eBay shows it selling for $400, $450, $500 new in box. And, around $250 - $300 if built.

To someone unfamiliar with what retired LEGO sets will set for that may be a shock, but it's true. Some older LEGO sets (especially new in box) can sell for a lot.
  • FatMattFatMatt USMember Posts: 502
    Yes, top dollar that people are getting for them on ebay right now is $500, which translates to around $450 for the seller after shipping and fees.
    ^ I agree. A fair price 'among friends' would be in the $350-450 range, IMHO.
  • LegoboyLegoboy 100km furtherMember Posts: 8,815
    Although there are occasions where they come up cheap on ebay. I snagged mine three or 4 months ago for £150 brand new.
  • FatMattFatMatt USMember Posts: 502
    A few months ago there were some for sale on Craigslist around me for $280 or so if I recall. Would have been nice to pick them up since prices have spiked on them a little in the last month.
  • richoricho Member Posts: 3,830
    I quite like the beetle, perhaps should have bought it. Never been a fan of the Camper Van in real life, so that will be one I don't buy.
    Funny how they sat on the shelf in John Lewis all year then all disappeared in a stampede a week or so back.
  • t_kutchnert_kutchner Member Posts: 8