Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Best Way to Introduce LEGO Robotics to 8-Year-Old?

f2iso100f2iso100 United StatesMember Posts: 54
My 8-year-old would normally have been able to join her school's Robotics team in the spring, but since we're virtual, they're not doing it this year. My daughter was REALLY looking forward to it, though, so I'm looking for a cost-effective way to still give her a good introduction to LEGO Robotics without getting too complicated for an absolute beginner. 

About me: I have an extensive LEGO collection, but it's more of the modular sorts of things. Budget is probably around $150. I am not averse to buying stuff piecemeal from Bricklink, as I'd likely have all most of the brick components from any given set. 

Thanks in advance for any advice! 

Comments

• The_RancorThe_Rancor Dorset, UKMember Posts: 1,634
    I’m not sure what the situation is re: prices for the specific robot parts 2nd hand but Boost was designed specifically for this kind of purpose, and probably feasible to get reduced around Black Friday for $150 if still being sold near you as the start kit/Star Wars kit. It’s initially quite tied to unlocking functions in the app, but after that you can use whatever functions you like.

Mindstorms would probably be what you want to ‘future proof’ a bit better for your daughter though. 
    Fizyx
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,807
    +1 for Mindstorms but it'll be more than $150 unfortunately.

There's more emphasis on building fancy robots than programming them in Boost: it takes so long to build them she'll be bored by the time it comes to program them.

The basic Mindstorms Robot Designer bots can be built in a matter of minutes, almost.

FizyxThe_Rancor
  • CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 19,586