Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.com Amazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

To keep or not to keep ?

SbhedgesSbhedges Member Posts: 3
edited April 2011 in Buying & Selling Topics
Hello all,

Apologies if I'm posting this in the wrong forum. I couldn't see any other convenient place to put it.

I have in my possession a particular set. It's the LEGO Star Wards Ultimate Collector Series set 10030-1 Imperial Star Destroyer. It was bought back in 2002 from LEGOLAND Winsdor for £250

I've built this model twice and done thorough checks of it to ensure all pieces are there, I've ordered new parts for it off Brickset to replace missing ones and even bought a new "Sticker" to ensure that it's almost mint.

I've heard people say that there were two variants of this set. One with Light grey parts and another with light bluish grey. Mine is the light grey one, the instructions are the Spiral Bound version.

My query is, because I have no knowledge whatsoever of the LEGO market. Is it worth holding onto this item for a few more years to ensure a maximum resale price or should I just sell it now and get a significant return on the original investment ?

Also, looking on ebay I've seen very big variations in the price recieved for this item, some have gone for £450 whilst others have gone for about £300. What is a far price to expect ?

Many thanks all for any help you can give,
Stephen

Comments

• gold682gold682 UKMember Posts: 208
    Depends on whether you need the money or not. Swings & roundabouts regarding when to sell, as if you sell now, you'll get a good return but if you sell in a few years you'll probably get more, but take inflation etc into it then it may not be that much more.
    If you do sell, i'd look at Amazon. Yes they charge high fees, but then you potentially also get the best return - if you're in no rush to sell. There is only one on there at the moment, asking price is £1795 !!!!!