Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

My house in LEGO

pmatospmatos Eckental, GermanyMember Posts: 3
Hi,

First post here so, hey, hi!
In 2015 I finished building my new house in Germany. Well, I didn't 'really' build it but with the help of two amazing architects I designed my dream home. It's now a reality and since then I have been thinking that with all the architectural plans, it would be awesome to create a large LEGO clone of the house.

Problem is, I have no idea where to start. As in, I think I can do it in LeoCAD and then hopefully I can get a list of pieces and I can go off and buy them but the problem is, I have no knowledge of techniques that might be needed to build a house in lego. So, I can scale the house more or less (due to sizes of pieces) to a 50cmx50cm square, but I then have no idea what's best:
* which bricks for the wall and how to lay them;
* do I need to glue them?
* bricks for internal walls?
* how can I create a ceiling that opens up to see the inside;

So, I am looking for references to maybe books, online references that may aid me in understanding what's involved. Also, once I have a list of pieces I need (LeoCAD will give me that, right?) where can I get them? Any comments and suggestions, warning and other experiences would be great.

Kind regards,

Paulo Matos

Comments

• CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 17,393
    Before starting, I'd buy some LEGO sets (12+ ones) first and play with them to understand how the bricks go together.

I'd also take the scale from available doors.
  • scottdd2scottdd2 ADELAIDEMember Posts: 51

hi Paulo,

I couldn't recommend a Cad program as I just use the old Lego Digital Designer, buy once you get a parts list you can buy individual parts direct from Lego, or Bricklink is also very good for parts.