The forum is now at http://forum.brickset.com. Please update your bookmarks.
Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.
You must be 16 or over to participate in the Brickset Forum. Please read the announcements and rules before you join.

Hello Brickset, I need educated opinions

Baby_YodaBaby_Yoda The world's backsideMember Posts: 464
Firstly, hi. I'm new to Brickset forums but not to Brickset itself. I'm from Tasmania, Australia, where Lego is both scarce and expensive. Fortunately the Internet is fine down here so I buy almost all of my Lego online. I can get some pretty good discounts if I wait long enough anyway, which makes being a TFOL a little more financially bearable.

...Which brings me to my second point. I collect Star Wars but I have never owned a single Hoth set (or a UCS set, for the record, but that's kind of irrelevant). I just found 75098 Assault on Hoth for less than half its RRP, putting it under 10c per part which is insanely good value for money in Australia. I'm aware of the poor quality of the set - the minifigures included are generally bad; the models are small, many, and not too great either; and the poor Imperials don't really have much of an Assault going for them. I've heard some pretty creative insults for this set. Nevertheless, I feel that it's good value for money at half price and fitting for someone like me that has absolutely nothing already included. I also don't personally mind the broken-up design. Is it really that bad? Does it cover all of the major Rebel stuff (there's f all Empire stuff) from the Battle of Hoth well enough? Would it even be worth investing in for the future at that price? I need the thoughts of experienced people who know what they're talking about.
MAGNINOMINISUMBRA

Comments