Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Bricklinking 10179 UCS Millenium Falcon

Comments

• AvengerDrAvengerDr Member Posts: 453
    What kind of technology would you employ? While -err - pursuing the interests of scientific knowledge, I asked a friend of mine at the university to use the lab's 3D printer to "make" a lego brick but the results are nowhere near the quality of the real ones.
  • Pitfall69Pitfall69 0 miles to Legoboy's houseMember Posts: 11,409
    Did you check out my link?
    I used 3D printers a lot when I was an engineer, but they were mostly for fabricating prototypes and were not meant to be used in an application.
  • LegoFanTexasLegoFanTexas TexasMember Posts: 8,409
    The 3D printer in the link is not going to be useful for making Lego parts.

However, 3D printers do exist that can. Audiovox makes buttons for their in-car DVD players for BMW using 3D printers... Just as one example, but those machines cost a lot of money.

It costs Audiovox about 93 cents each to make each button, compared to about 30 cents each for injection molding, but with the molding they have a $4,000 mold they have to make, where there is no start up cost to the 3D printer, so they can make 500 of them, change the design, make 500 more, change it again, no retooling costs.

I don't know if I'd use 3D printing, or injection molding... If I make 1,000 of them and it costs me $5,000 to have the mold made, then my cost per part is $5 for the mold, if the cost to make the part is another $5 given the very low production run, then there is my $10 per part cost, and they could probably be made very close to the Lego part. Given that this is boat rigging and not a brick that needs clutch power, I think it might work.
  • BrickDancerBrickDancer Dunes of TatooineMember Posts: 3,639
    Ready for the secret @AvengerDr & @parkerwilson ? #4495 has 7 of them.