Palace of Westminster

PaperballparkPaperballpark UKMember Posts: 3,445
edited April 2017 in Building and Techniques
First of all, apologies for the quality of the photos below, but this is what I've been working on for the past 5 months.

Almost as soon as the Big Ben set was released, I knew that the full Palace of Westminster needed to be done to the same scale. So I decided to do it, and I finished it a few days ago. It will be on public display for the first time at Bricktastic in Manchester, UK, on Sat 1 - Sun 2 July.

It took me a total of 234 hours to build (yes, I kept track), and about 20-30 hours beforehand to plan it out.

In total, it uses approximately 50,000 pieces. I opened a total of 10 Big Ben sets to build it (not including the set used for the Big Ben part of it), and I also placed 70 Bricklink orders to get extra pieces - over 11,000 extra pieces! That's in addition to using an estimated 6000 pieces from my own collection. I did have a lot of spare pieces left over from the Big Ben sets though.

The model itself splits into 6 main sections for transport, and you'll probably be able to spot the joins if you look closely, as my kitchen floor is not very level. It measures 177.6cm (70in) wide, by 100cm (39in) deep, by 70cm (27.5in) high.

More photos are available on my Flickr. If you want to see it 'in the brick', as it were, it will be at Bricktastic in Manchester, UK, on Sat 1 - Sun 2 July. As the show is organised by the charity Fairy Bricks, all proceeds from the show will go to them. I'd also like to say a big thank you to Kev from Fairy Bricks for his encouragement and support during the planning and building of this project. :)

If you have any questions I haven't covered above, just ask.