Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Need advice/ideas on mounting system for Lego sign

bkprbkpr Texas, USAMember Posts: 295
edited February 2016 in Building and Techniques
Hey everyone. I'm planning on creating a Lego version of our company logo for a new office. (A bit more detail in this thread). I need some ideas/advice for mounting it to the wall, specifically how to design/build the backside of it to allow for easy mounting. I don't have an LDD model yet (am working on it over the next couple of days) but I can give some details of what I'm thinking. Note: I've never built anything like this before, so if there's a glaringly obvious flaw in my plan, please make yourself heard! 
  • Logo design can be seen on above-linked thread
  • Roughly 80–100cm width
  • Constructing out of mostly 2x4 bricks, with some slopes and curves
  • I'm planing on making it 2 studs deep (one layer of bricks).
  • I will have some led lighting strips behind stuck to the wall for an backlit effect similar to this sign so it will have to hang off the wall by ~4 studs
  • Ideally it's removable from the wall so we can make tweaks to the sign over time, like adding minifigs and some architectural elements. For this to happen the sign may need to break into a few horizontal sections.
I have one idea for how to build the mounting system so far:

At strategic points throughout the sign — maybe near each corner of the hexagon — I'll have some 2x6 bricks pointing directly backwards giving me my 4 stud clearance from the wall. These six "prongs" will simply rest on six matching hardware brackets I put into the wall, maybe with a 2x2 plate glued to them so the 2x6 bricks can 'lock' onto the wall bracket and not easily slide forward. I may need more of these brackets along the bottom edge to act as a sort of shelf holding the majority of the weight.