Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.com Amazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

[email protected] Sales around X'mas time

DatodaDatoda Member Posts: 8
edited November 2011 in Collecting
I saw this question being raised in the [email protected] BF thread, but the answers there seem conflicting and fragmented (at least to me). Anyway, I think it deserves its own thread. Since this is my first year (first three months, to be exact) in collecting LEGO sets, I have a few questions about the year-end sale. I hope the more experienced folks here can fill in the blanks for me and other less experienced AFOLs. Thanks.
1. When does it start? When does it end?
2. Is it available both online and in store, or just one but not the other?
3. How deep of a discount can we expect? Is it across the board or just on some selected sets?

Comments

• atkinsaratkinsar Member Posts: 4,272
    edited November 2011
    Last year, the online [email protected] sale started on December 24th in the UK, not sure about other countries. Discounts were deep, up to 50% but some sets were out of stock as soon as the sale went live, others were gone within minutes. You have to be quick!

It is only on selected sets, certainly not across the board. The sales are in store as well, but I don't know if they go live at the same time, someone else surely will. It goes on until all stock is gone I think.
  • LegoFanTexasLegoFanTexas TexasMember Posts: 8,409
    Keep in mind that some sets that are deeply discounted, are so for a reason.

http://www.brickset.com/detail/?Set=7753-1

Good example... This Star Wars set retailed for $39.99, sold in the Lego shop Dec 26th for $11.98.

It must not have been a good seller, since you can still get them for around retail today. :)

That being said, if you just want a deal on a set, that price is hard to beat!
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    Hi Datoda,