Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

Newbie advice on purchases

Hi All,

As pretty much a complete newbie to Lego I am wondering where best to spend my cash. Essentially do I start putting money into things that are time sensitive or of more interest.

A great example of this is the Star Wars 2015 Advent Calendar. I've already missed the boat on this and am watching these fly out of Ebay at around £32 plus shipping in UK (so around £36 in all).  Alternatively I am interested in the Ghostbusters Eco-1 set at around £45 from lego (less 5% if I spend over £100). 

Where would you advise I start? The plus of the advent calendar is its limited availability vs a set I am more interested in.

In addition to this I am looking at possibly getting the Tumbler. Is this a good choice for beginning with bigger set? I like the look of it and think it will make a nice display piece.

Thoughts welcome.

Comments

• BobflipBobflip Member Posts: 462
    The ECTO-1 is still my favourite set of all time. 

I don't have a huge budget so there's a lot of sets I've missed, but I love that one.
    All_That_Rocks
  • All_That_RocksAll_That_Rocks UKMember Posts: 633
    It is cool isn't it. The issue for me is that this is still available whereas the Advent Calendar isn't. I suppose the calendar is always going to be available on eBay though, but not sure how prices would rise. Mostly, that would just be fun to open. The only real points of interest would be the minifigs.
  • CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 17,416
    I'd buy a decent building set over an advent calendar with a few nice minifigs and lots of fairly naff mini builds.
    All_That_Rocks
  • tecjamtecjam Germany / SwitzerlandMember Posts: 255
    ^^ I agree with CCC.