Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.com Amazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Question about Polycarbonate

suukorak12suukorak12 United StatesMember Posts: 1
So I was looking around Eurobricks and other websites and a few people have had their Iron Man minifigs legs crack due to the trans blue cylinders connected to them. Transparent pieces are made of polycarbonate, which is a less flexible material then ABS. Has anyone had any damage to parts due to transparent pieces such as cracks or a looser connection?

Comments

• CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 18,242
    Yes, minifig legs attached to polycarb, just as you describe for Iron Man. If you display such minifigs, don't attached the polycarb pieces.
  • IstokgIstokg MichiganMember Posts: 2,100
    Yes.... have seen a lot of very minor cracks around the base of trans-clear 1x1 round bricks over the last 40 years (I've been collecting for 55 years).
  • MynattMynatt OH/NYMember Posts: 579
    So since the Super Jumper is also a polycarbonate, does this mean that its even doing damage when its not in use?

I currently have a few Age of Ultron sets on display with a figure on the Super Jumper, however I don't use the feature. Am I at risk at damaging the figure?
  • CCCCCC UKMember Posts: 18,242
    ^ If you have the figure attached to the jumper, then there is probably a risk of damage.
    Mynatt
  • VorpalRyuVorpalRyu AustraliaMember Posts: 2,303
    Personally I don't get the point of the super-jumpers, then again I'm not particularly fond of the flick-fire missiles or stud launchers either... What's wrong with using your imagination & pretending their guns can shoot?
    TheBigLegoskixiahna
  • FauchFauch FranceMember Posts: 2,363
    the super jumpers seem flawed, or at least the one I have. I tried attaching bricks and plates on it and it was impossible, as if the studs were too large, so I'm not surprised it cracks legs.
  • ShibShib UKMember Posts: 5,262