Shopping at LEGO or Amazon?
Please use our links: LEGO.comAmazon
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

Brickset.com site issues

1356716

Comments

  • PaperballparkPaperballpark UK / KLMember Posts: 3,720
    And now everything has fallen down again :(
  • phantom78phantom78 Member Posts: 23
    mere speculation but im going to definitely side with network issue as the cause as opposed to dos.

    i agree with other comments the german ip sounds like hes using scraper, and the fact there is network issues is probably inadvertently causing his crappy scraper to make too many requests. if the network was stable he probably would have scraped the entire catalogue overnight and you would be none the wiser unless you study the logs like a hawk each morning

    plus if its only a single ip once you banned his entire subnet shouldnt things return to normal?
  • richoricho Member Posts: 3,830
    Loads of problems connecting again on both sites. :-(
  • richoricho Member Posts: 3,830
    Error 524. A timeout occurred.
  • RikTheVeggieRikTheVeggie CanadaMember Posts: 341
    brickset.com seems up, but very slow and I got a 524 before refreshing.
    new.brickset.com seems wonderfully whizzy and working like a charm.
    Are both sites hosted on the same server?

    Could you do a 302 or 307 from the old to the new. If any traffic is then seen on the IP for the old site you know it's suspicious (and if the new starts having issues, then it's probably a bad scraper which is following the redirect). Could also try disallowing all in robots.txt but it's unlikely a custom scraper would pay any attention to it.
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    I've just had a long chat with ORI. They are doing everything they can to sort this out. They are seeing a lot of strange traffic to the site and are blocking it and getting their upstream providers to block it too.

    All IPs except those originating via CloudFlare have been blocked. Cloudflare reports security threat originating countries and many are coming from Singapore and China. I have thus blocked them at CloudFlare for now, but will re-enable when this over.

    The reason many pages are not loading is because ORI have put a 1 second timeout at the firewall on requests to try and stop the rogue traffic. But that is not enough for many of the pages to load so I've asked it to be increased.

    It's tempting to think that rehosting will solve the problems but if it's due to traffic targeted at Brickset directly then obviously that will continue wherever it's hosted.

    What I might do tomorrow is sign up for the other hosting package and transfer traffic to it, if only to see what happens. It will be expensive, but if it does turn out to solve the problem it will be worth it.
  • BooTheMightyHamsterBooTheMightyHamster Northern edge of London, just before the dragons...Member Posts: 1,324
    So tell us, @Huw , who have you annoyed recently, eh?
  • akunthitaakunthita USAMember Posts: 1,035
    @Huw I used to have a lot of problem with rogue IPs from Germany and China. They are probably still trying, but my tech person did some of his woodoo and they are no longer a problem. So from that perspective it is possible that your server is under attack. These are usually not people targeting a specific site, just machines looking for a vulnerable site to hack into. If you are able to keep them out and minimize their effect after some time they move on to the next target.
  • rebrickablerebrickable Member Posts: 36
    It's actually quite normal for there to be threats showing in your cloudflare analytics, they're just a constant presence on the net these days. If you've ever spent time tailing your logs (I have, it's fun!) you will see some really weird stuff. It's surprising how many script kiddies and scrapers/bots are out there.
  • AleyditaAleydita BelgiumMember Posts: 871
    Isn't it possible to deny access simply by setting up a deny record in the .htaccess? I can't remember exactly but a site I run encountered massive problems with Baidu a couple of years ago, which was basically spam crawling everything constantly. Somebody suggested I add their IP range to the .htaccess and me being the technical whizz I am (/sarcasm) somehow cobbled it together and the traffic dropped off overnight.
  • AFFOL_Shellz_BellzAFFOL_Shellz_Bellz Member Posts: 1,263
    5:50 CA time and I can search on brickset, but it will not allow me to sign in on either the old or new site.
  • ninjagolightlyninjagolightly Member Posts: 140
    I can access new. and pages either load instantly or not at all, stalling an eventually giving a no page in cache error. Those that won't load, I can usually get to load on a second or third try after waiting a few second. I still can't access the old site at all. In the US.
  • ErnstErnst Member Posts: 133
    Netherlands. The "old" site works now, the new site gives this error : Error 524 Ray ID: f7652725ead0743.

    Just for info, keep up the good work !!
  • flowerpotgirlflowerpotgirl ScotlandMember Posts: 150
    Both old and new loading for me here (UK) now, if a little slowly. Is it safe to update my set list?
  • flowerpotgirlflowerpotgirl ScotlandMember Posts: 150
    Spoke to soon, old and new both threw Cloudfare 524 errors at the same time. Refreshing the page seems to work sometimes.
  • CHERUBboyCHERUBboy Member Posts: 98
    Yonks ago, when I was on jury service, a more experienced member of the jury told me that you can always tell when someone has previous convictions for doing something, because although you can't disclose them in court, you can be sure that the defence will talk about the suspects immaculate previous recored if he doesn't have any convictions.

    Taking this theory back to the Brickset issues. It's very unusual for a small site like Brickset to be targeted by a DDos attack. And if it was just Brickset being targeted, I'm fairly sure that Huw's web host would immediately say that it was all the fault of his site clogging down their bandwidth and shut his site down to keep all of their other customers happy.

    However, if it was their entire network being targeted, they'd be extremely reluctant to admit this to any of their customers because they'd face a mass exodus.

    It's just a theory, but if I were to have a bet, I'd say its' the entire server not just Bricklink being targeted.
  • briziobrizio Member Posts: 31
    The new site looks like is running fine now but the old one is gone: both new.brickset.com and www.brickset.com are pointing to the newer.
  • legoprodslegoprods SpainMember Posts: 441
    CHERUBboy said:


    It's just a theory, but if I were to have a bet, I'd say its' the entire server not just Bricklink being targeted.

    This is probably a typo, but BrickLink is no longer hosted with ORI. I think they moved to Amazon (after a failure Asian server).

    BTW, I keep getting empty RSS feeds with a 'The Brickset.com RSS feeds have moved' title.

    Also, I don't think that it is too much 'legit' traffic going through the page and that the provider isn't able to handle it. Bricklink used to be hosted with the same people until last summer, and BL has a shedload more of traffic (I think!).
  • CHERUBboyCHERUBboy Member Posts: 98
    Yes, typo! Sorry.
  • plasmodiumplasmodium UKMember Posts: 1,939
    (New) site now working fine for me! Congrats and thanks, @Huw!
  • richoricho Member Posts: 3,830
    Running fine for me now. whoop.
  • cheshirecatcheshirecat Member Posts: 5,332
    edited February 2014
    Yes all seems to be working fine now. Had a few niggles a minute ago but seems to be flying now.
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    It's going like shit off a shovel now, isn't it!

    The RSS has been moved to http://www.brickset.com/feed to align it with the normal location for wordpress-like site feeds.
    alexwil
  • LegoboyLegoboy 100km furtherMember Posts: 8,769
    edited February 2014
    Working great for me. Well done Huw. :-)
  • LegopantsLegopants GermanyMember Posts: 2,033
    Yep, everything great for me too :-))
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    I'm finding the forum (this place) is not displaying properly - is it just me?
  • MatthewMatthew Cheshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 3,734
    ^ No, it's the same for everyone unless your browser has the CSS cached from the old site. It's due to the forum attempting to pull the style info from the location that it was in on the old site. I'm sure Huw will sort it shortly :-)
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    I've removed all Brickset styling for now until I have time to produce one to match the new site, although, actually, this default one is pretty good now...
  • BooTheMightyHamsterBooTheMightyHamster Northern edge of London, just before the dragons...Member Posts: 1,324
    Ah! Thought I'd gone mad for a minute. The forum's all different.
    Have to say, I really like it - don't be in too much of a rush to change it, @Huw !
  • rocaorocao Administrator Posts: 4,289
    Yeah, it's not bad. I do prefer the old format of having the categories menu on the right so that reading threads is left-justified, though.
    legomattYellowcastlemartynPaperballpark
  • richoricho Member Posts: 3,830
    edited February 2014
    I really like this new forum look, don't think it needs much tinkering?

    Categories on the left I like!
  • CapnRex101CapnRex101 United KingdomAdministrator Posts: 2,287
    I reckon the new forum style looks great, although of course the updated Brickset logo and a few other touches would complete it.
  • LegoboyLegoboy 100km furtherMember Posts: 8,769
    edited February 2014
    I too don't mind it. One thing I've found however is that the 'Home' link leaves you in the forum rather than to the main site. Have I missed something? Is there still a quick link?
  • oldtodd33oldtodd33 Denver 4800 miles to BillundMember Posts: 2,514
    NOPE! Don't like it at all, not one bit. It's waaaay too bright and very plain looking.
    legomattlegoprods
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    edited February 2014
    Ah, I see the forum is changed again. Sorry to be that guy, but can't say I like the default version. I'm with @rocao , With categories on the left, the actual thread ends up just hanging in a sea of white, and the glare of the white expanse (below the categories) royally screws my eyes up trying to focus on the text. I hope I can get used to it, but migraines do not show mercy. :oS
    legoprods
  • TheOneVeyronianTheOneVeyronian Help me, I'm inside the M25! (UK)Member Posts: 1,360
    I suppose this new layout is okay, but really the categories need to be on the right for me. I also hate the fact that my own posts no longer appear blue, but the same colour as other member's posts, so it's easier for them to get lost in a sea of replies. If you know what I mean. Anything to break up the white a little bit once the categories are out of view! :-)

    But maybe that's just me.

    I can't say I like the notification and inbox pop ups you get with the default either. I want all my PM's / notifications to appear with one click like it did in the old version.

    But again, maybe that's just me.
  • RikTheVeggieRikTheVeggie CanadaMember Posts: 341
    Glad the site's back up Huw. Was going to make a comment about 1 to 1.5 seconds (ms I could believe, not s) per query sounds very slow to me (especially for a stored proc) but given the 'new' site's speed I'm guessing you've already done something about that. Well done, time for a well earned rest!
  • ninjagolightlyninjagolightly Member Posts: 140
    The Amazon discount list seems to be showing third-party prices again... wasn't that fixed at some point? I don't check it often, so I may be misremembering...
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    Yes, we definitely need the categories on the right. I'll try and get that switched, at least, later today, but bear with me as I have a stack of other stuff to do first.
  • PaperballparkPaperballpark UK / KLMember Posts: 3,720
    Another issue on the forum is that the set numbers don't hotlink to the set on Brickset.com :( They never did on the mobile version, but they're not on the desktop version now.
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    I noticed that too. Also, and it might just be me, but I'm finding strange little instances of 'doubled-up' screen 'overlap' when threads open. I'm thinking it's when I have an unposted draft. I have to scroll up and down to clear the overlap.
  • legoprodslegoprods SpainMember Posts: 441
    edited February 2014
    Ugh... too much white. At least bring back the old background with the blue around and white middle. The rest is great!
  • MatthewMatthew Cheshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 3,734
    edited February 2014
    ^ You can set the background to 'Brickset Blue' in the site preferences section of your profile.
    Edit: Sorry, I thought you were talking about the main site!
    rancorbait
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    edited February 2014
    Well I tells ya. Just as I get used to things on the left, it bl**dy changes back again.

    (I'm joking!)

    ;o)
  • BumblepantsBumblepants DFWMember Posts: 6,458
    Not a big deal but it would be nice to have 'Recent Discussions' as an option again at the bottom of a thread when you get a chance.
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    LOL, yes, I've just tidied it up a bit. I actually quite like it as it is now. There's no compelling reason for it to match the main site, is there?
  • legomattlegomatt Member Posts: 2,548
    edited February 2014
    ^^ huh, I don't even remember that feature.

    ^ No, i wouldn't make it match. I like the distinction between the two. The forum needs to be simple, as the chat is the attraction. If it looks all glitz and bling, it'll detract from the threads/be less functional, if that makes sense?
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
  • rancorbaitrancorbait Manitoba CanadaMember Posts: 1,850
    edited February 2014
    Much better @Huw! I kept looking for the list on the right side :o)

    ^^^ I don't think there is any need to... What, do you kids need bright colors to entertain yourselves? ;oP
  • HuwHuw Brickset Towers, Hampshire, UKAdministrator Posts: 6,691
    edited February 2014
    ^^ Links like those above are now hooked up to new site.

    Recent discussions link now at the bottom, and the header is 'Brickset blue'.

    I think that'll do for now, don't you?
    rancorbaitBumblepants
Sign In or Register to comment.

Shopping at LEGO.com or Amazon?

Please use our links: LEGO.com Amazon

Recent discussions Categories Privacy Policy

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Brickset.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, the Amazon.com.ca, Inc. Associates Program and the Amazon EU Associates Programme, which are affiliate advertising programs designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.