Please refrain from posting animated GIFs, memes, joke videos and so on in discussions other than those in the off topic area.

Dismiss this message to confirm your acceptance of this additional forum term of use.

MISB 10132 9v train won't start - what am I doing wrong?

streekerstreeker FranceMember Posts: 299
edited November 2012 in Building and Techniques
Complete train novice here. Bought the 2004 Hogwarts express 10132 off ebay, MISB, from trusted seller. Built all three train sections, lay down the oval track, plug in the regulator, check power button is on, connectors in place, turn the regulator to the right and voila! train doesn't run. Fidget wth track/train/ connectors. No go. Had some explaining to do to a very disappointed 4-year old.

I know it's an old set, but as it's not been opened/used, shouldn't it run on the first go? Any advice?

Comments

• oldtodd33oldtodd33 Denver 4800 miles to BillundMember Posts: 2,356
    Since everything is new I would try pushing the train engine around the track a bit. You have to remember if it is from 2004 it has been sitting for 7 years or so. Poor conductivity is the most likely problem. Double check the connecting points to make sure all clips are firmly in place and actually touching the metal. If all this fails get an ohm meter and start checking the voltage at every point. Voltage should be a steady 9v obviously. Hope this helps.
  • davee123davee123 USAMember Posts: 804
    I've never heard of a new MISB LEGO train set not working before, even if it's old. But it could be that you've got a faulty motor, track, connecting wire, or regulator. If you have any other spare 9v motors and wires, try connecting them to the regulator to see if they work. And hopefully this goes without saying, but just be sure that you've got the connecting wire attached to both the inner rail and the outer rail (not both on the outer rail or something).

DaveE
  • streekerstreeker FranceMember Posts: 299